“NON IMPEDITI RATIONE COGITATIONIS” AND THE CAREERIST

Posted: February 7, 2013 in career
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

What’s that? You say your Latin is a bit rusty? This extraordinary phrase comes from two of my Saturday morning heroes – Tom and Ray Magliozzi (a.k.a. “Click and Clack, the Tappet Brothers” from Car Talk). If this does not connect with any of you, I urge you to tune in a PBS radio station in your area at 10 AM on the afore-mentioned day before their car advice (AND raucous Cambridge laughter) leave the airwaves. An absolute delight, they even include good automotive advice at times!

This Latin phrase is one of their deeply held credos. When asked how they are able to respond to call-in gty_car_talk_Tom_and_Ray_Magliozzi_jt_120609_wgquestions as quickly as they do, their response (translated into Latin for the more erudite among us) was “We’re ‘unencumbered by the thought process.’”

I’ve shamelessly adopted this as one of my mantras, to the point of having it emblazoned over the door to my office (to challenge myself as well as my clients). Why? One of MY deeply held credos is as follows: “We should think less and act more.” My most recent book review on Hare Brain, Tortoise Mind notes how “thinking less can make you more intelligent.” We often spend so much time thinking through options and potential outcomes that action never ensues. This impacts opportunities for all, since failure to act on something virtually guarantees failure to achieve much of anything.

To be sure, we need to engage what Hercule Poirot called “the little grey cells” as we move ahead in our work and lives, but I would humbly suggest that you include this Latin phrase in your “career toolbox” as well.

Don’t be so encumbered by the thought process! Think a little less and act more!

Comments
  1. I love Car Talk and here in Maine it is repeated on Sunday’s in case I miss it on Saturday morning.

    “Unencumbered by the thought process”….This is reminiscent of the book “Two Second Advantage” that argues that too much data can make it difficult to make the best decisions.
    They talk about DOING something so many times that you get the FEEL for what is right and wrong. It is ALL about ACTION!

  2. Barry Davis says:

    Thanks for sharing, friend Jim! We too get the rebroadcast on Sundays. I am not looking forward to their retirement, although they have certainly earned it!

  3. dmccann67 says:

    I too love Click and Clack! And I’ll admit I’m often encumbered by too much thought, I vow to think less and act more! Thanks for the tips and book recommendations, Barry!!

  4. […] Next week, Ray is putting out his personal favourite clips…I’m looking forward to ‘The Best of Tommy.’ Oh, the haiku fit the format better but I really tried to fit the great man’s personal motto in: Non Impediti Ratione Cogitationis. […]

Leave a comment