In Praise of “Tweets” – Don’t Throw the Bird Out With the Bird Bath!

Posted: June 15, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

OK, so maybe this is a lousy pun, but I have real concerns over the knee-jerk dismissal of Twitter as a social media tool because of the plethora of inane, insipid, even profane babblings out there.

Here are a few key reasons why I am an advocate for the Twitterverse:

I’m a BIG FAN of the 140 character limit!

Although I’m not all that enthused by shortcuts like 2nite and b4, any application that makes us do more with less is OK in my book. I can easily glance at a Tweet and determine if it’s worth considering or skipping. If the author’s point resonates with me and there’s a URL in the message, I’ll check it out. If not, I can quickly move on. 

#Hashtags rule.

Using a product like www.wefollow.com, I can easily search out the hot topics or issues that are mission critical for me at that moment. I can then find out who is saying what, increase my audience by imbedding the appropriate tag in my message, or perhaps create my own tag to start something new.

Friendly “helper” applications are everywhere.

You can download a “dashboard” like Hootsuite, Tweetdeck, et al to keep connected with Twitter (as well as other applications) easily and quickly. I seldom open Twitter (unless I am revising my profile), using one of these “helpers” to keep a digital eye out for me.

Companies and organizations are joining the show.

As is the case with many other Social Media tools, more and more sites are displaying the little blue “t” or his ornithological companion on their home page to allow customers, clients, potential employees, etc. to get engaged within the 140 character universe. There are even sites like http://www.tweetmyjobs.com http://www.twitjobsearch.com, etc. that post job openings. Log onto the sites of companies and organizations of interest. You’ll be surprised how many request that you “follow us on Twitter!”

In closing, I cannot deny the fact that a large percentage of what is “tweeted” is inane, insipid, banal, even profane. The answer to this is simple – Don’t follow anyone who does this! To quote www.despair.com and their take on Twitter: “Never before have so many people with so little to say said so much to so few..”

Notwithstanding all the digital drivel that is out their under the auspices of that little bluebird, Twitter has much to offer!

… and you can retweet me on that (@bl_davis)!

Leave a Reply

